Aircrack-ng forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Aircrack-ng 1.7 release

Sorry Guest, you are banned from posting and sending personal messages on this forum.
This ban is not set to expire.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Issues with RTL8192CU chipset in Debian 8  (Read 6391 times)

robin24

Issues with RTL8192CU chipset in Debian 8
« on: November 05, 2015, 07:33:29 pm »

Hello all,
I am new to Aircrack-ng and would like to use it on a Raspberry Pi, running Raspbian (a customized version of Debian) version 8. For this purpose, I have compiled Aircrack-ng 1.2 RC2.
I've purchased 2 TP-Link TL-WN823N WiFi adapters, since according to my online research this WiFi adapter (which uses the RTL8192CU chipset) is supposed to work well with Aircrack-ng...
As far as I can tell after some testing, the adapters work well when establishing a normal WiFi connection, but using the Aircrack-ng tools is apparently a different story... first off, I tried launching airmon-ng:

airmon-ng start wlan1
No interfering processes found
PHY   Interface   Driver      Chipset

null   wlan0      rtl8192cu   Realtek Semiconductor Corp. RTL8192CU 802.11n WLAN Adapternull   wlan1      rtl8192cu   Realtek Semiconductor Corp. RTL8192CU 802.11n WLAN Adapter

So far so good... However, listing the available interfaces using ifconfig or ip addr show does not reveal any 'mon' interfaces. ip addr show output for wlan1 currently looks as follows:
4: wlan1: <NO-CARRIER,BROADCAST,UP> mtu 1500 qdisc mq state DOWN group default qlen 1000
    link/ether c4:e9:84:de:cf:7b brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff

I've tried using aireplay-ng to perform the injection test, which gave me the following output:

aireplay-ng -9 wlan1
ioctl(SIOCSIWMODE) failed: Invalid argument

ARP linktype is set to 1 (Ethernet) - expected ARPHRD_IEEE80211,
ARPHRD_IEEE80211_FULL or ARPHRD_IEEE80211_PRISM instead.  Make
sure RFMON is enabled: run 'airmon-ng start wlan1 <#>'