Aircrack-ng forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Aircrack-ng 1.7 release

Sorry Guest, you are banned from posting and sending personal messages on this forum.
This ban is not set to expire.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Is this a good place to ask for reaver help?  (Read 19068 times)

minimalis

Is this a good place to ask for reaver help?
« on: September 07, 2016, 01:15:07 pm »

Hello aircrack-ng community,

I've recently been introduced to Kali Linux which I intend to learn in the next few years to come.
(BTW could anyone recommend a good book for a complete beginner, preferably one that can be bought or converted into Kindle format. I am not really into online courses.)
Anyways, I figured I would test my router first, thinking practice makes perfect.
I will try to give you as much information as possible on the progress I've made.

I originally had MAC Filtering enabled so I had to disable that also I decided to enable SSID broadcast for this penetration test. Just to make things a bit easier.

Wless adapter I'm using: TL-WN722N
Router in question: TL-WR720N

rockyou.txt and my personal wlist couldn't find my passphrase and my router is not PixieDust vulnerable. So far so good.

I figured I would try to brute-force the WPS PIN.

Terminal#1:
Code: [Select]
airmon-ng check kill
airodump-ng wlan1
I've read somewhere that airodump-ng wlan1 is preferred over airmon-ng wlan1; airodump-ng wlan1mon. Because the former makes use of the whole card. I do not know if it makes any sense. I've tried both the end result is the same.
When I find the BSSID of my router:
airodump-ng --bssid {R_BSSID} wlan1 -c #

New terminal window
Terminal#2:
wash -i wlan1I confirm that the router is in fact WPS enabled and is not locked.
aireplay-ng -1 0 -a {R_BSSID} wlan1
I've read somewhere that this was supposed to fix my problem. It didn't but I still do it just in case.

At this point I start reaver in Terminal#2